- English - Japanese -

Tokyo Sightseeing Information for Japan Trip

TOKYO SIGHTSEEING AREA

Takahata Fudoson Temple

[Worth Considering!] [Seasonal Special!] [Little-Known Secret] [Religion] [Temple] [Hydrangea] [Colored Leaf]

[Seasonal] Hydrangea Flowers Viewing
★★★★★★★★☆☆ (8.0/10.0)

[Overall] Sightseeing
★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7.0/10.0)

Features
△ Enjoyable
○ Beautiful
◎ Relaxing
◎ Unique
◎ Japanese

TRY JAPAN recommends ...

1: to see hydrangea flowers (limited season only)
2: to see Fudodo and Niomon Gate that are selected as national important cultural properties
3: to see the statue of Fudo Myoo that is selected as national important cultural properties
4: to see Five-Storied Pagoda

Buddhist temple where hydrangea flower is beautiful in early summer

If you visit Takahata Fudoson Temple, you can see the 5-Story Pagoda.

There are Okuden Hall, Dainichido Hall and so on in its temple grounds. In particular, Fudodo Hall and Niomon Gate are selected as Important Cultural Properties of Japan, along with some other temple treasures including the statue of Fudo Myoo. This Buddhist Temple is recognized as one of three major statues of Fudo Myoo in Kanto Area, along with Narita-San Shinshoji Temple in Chiba Prefecture and Souganji Temple in Saitama Prefecture. Its official name is Takahata Fudoson Kongoji Temple.

There is the hill in this temple. Walking around the hill, you can see the statues of Kobo Daishi walking around the pilgrimage path of 88 sacred places like the Shikoku pilgrimage.

This temple is recognized as one of the best places to see hydrangea flowers in Tokyo. There are about 7,500 hydrangea trees. The high season is in early summer, while it changes according to weather conditions. "Hydrangea Festival" is held from around early June to around early July. You can see tea-of-heaven hydrangea flowers in the first half and Western hydrangea flowers in the second half.

There are "the path of four seasons" and "the path of hydrangea" in the hill, along with "the path of pilgrimage." You can see the nature from season to season such as cherry blossoms in spring and colored leaves in late autumn. In particular, the hydrangea flowers on the slope of the hill at "Mirai Garden" that is located around the 70th sacred place in the path of pilgrimage are beautiful.

Thanks to Butsuden Sculpture Exhibition at Spring National Treasure Festival, it is possible to go to the top floor of 5-Story Pagoda on April 28.

It has a history from Heian period (794-1185). It is a middle-sized special Buddhist temple of Shingon Sect at commercial area in Takahata, Hino City, Tokyo. Its nearest station is Takahata-Fudo station.

Event Information

"Hydrangea Festival"
from June 1, 2017 (Thursday) to July 7, 2017 (Friday)

"Urabon-e Memorial Service"
July 15, 2017 (Saturday)

"Urabon-e Grand Segaki Memorial Service"
August 15, 2017 (Tuesday)

Finished Event Information

"Flower Festival"
April 8, 2015 (Wednesday)

"Spring National Treasure Grand Festival"
from April 26, 2015 (Sunday) to April 29, 2015 (Wednesday, National Holiday)
*Thanks to Butsuden Sculpture Exhibition, it is possible to go to the top floor of Five-story Pagoda from 10:00 to 16:00 on April 28, 2015 (Tuesday).

"The 18th Hino Shinsengumi Festival"
from May 9, 2015 (Saturday) to May 10, 2015 (Sunday)

"Hydrangea Festival"
from June 1, 2015 (Monday) to July 7, 2015 (Tuesday)

"Higan-e Buddhist Memorial Service"
September 23, 2015 (Wednesday, National Holiday)

"Autumn Grand Festival"
September 28, 2015 (Monday)

"World Diabetes Day Five-story Pagoda Blue Light up"
from November 7, 2015 (Saturday) to November 14, 2015 (Saturday)

"The 45th Takahata Fudoson Temple Chrysanthemum Festival"
from October 28, 2015 (Wednesday) to November 17, 2015 (Tuesday)

"Manto-e・Takahata Momijitouro"
from November 22, 2015 (Sunday) to November 23, 2015 (Monday, National Holiday)

"The Exhibition of Chikanobu Yoshu's Ukiyo-e"
from October 21, 2015 (Wednesday) to November 30, 2015 (Monday)

"Takahata Fudoson Temple Maple Festival"
from November 18, 2015 (Wednesday) to November 30, 2015 (Sunday)
#Light up of Maple in Temple Grounds is Extended until December 6, 2015 (Sunday).

"Jodoe"
December 8, 2015 (Tuesday)

"Susuharai (Ceremonial year-end cleaning of the main shrine buildings)"
December 11, 2015 (Friday)

"Winter Solstice Star Festival"
December 22, 2015 (Saturday)

"Osame-Fudo"
December 28, 2015 (Monday)

"The Bell on New Year's Eve "
January 1, 2016 (Friday)

"Goohoininka"
January 15, 2016 (Friday)

"The 62nd Bunkazai Boka Day (Cultural Property Fire Prevention Day) Fire Engine Practice"
January 26, 2016 (Tuesday)

"Hatsu Fudo Grand Festival (Daruma Doll Fair)"
January 28, 2016 (Thursday)
*Kids Parede is held from 14:00.

"Mame iri-Shiki"
January 31, 2016 (Sunday)

"Setsubun Festival"
February 3, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Nehane"
February 15, 2016 (Monday)

"Spring Equinox Day Higan-e Buddhist Memorial Service"
March 20, 2016 (Sunday, National Holiday)

"Kobo-Daishi Shomieku"
March 21, 2016 (Monday, Substitute Holiday)

"Flower Festival"
April 8, 2016 (Friday)

"Spring National Treasure Grand Festival"
from April 27, 2016 (Wednesday) to April 29, 2016 (Friday, National Holiday)
*Thanks to Butsuden Sculpture Exhibition Day, it is possible to go to the top floor of Five-story Pagoda from 10:00 to 16:00 on April 28, 2016 (Thursday).

"The 19th Hino Shinsengumi Festival"
from May 7, 2016 (Saturday) to May 8, 2016 (Sunday)

"May Grand Festival"
May 28, 2016 (Saturday)

"Aoba Festival (The Kobodaishi Birth Celebration Festival)"
June 15, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Hydrangea Festival"
from June 1, 2016 (Wednesday) to July 7, 2016 (Thursday)

"Urabon-e Memorial Service"
July 15, 2016 (Friday)

"Urabon-e Grand Segaki Memorial Service"
August 15, 2016 (Monday)

"Higan-e Buddhist Memorial Service"
September 22, 2016 (Thursday, National Holiday)

"Autumn Grand Festival・Daihannya Ceremony "
September 28, 2016 (Wednesday)

"The 46th Takahata Fudoson Temple Chrysanthemum Festival"
from October 28, 2016 (Friday) to November 17, 2016 (Thursday)

"World Diabetes Day Five-story Pagoda Blue Light up"
from November 12, 2016 (Saturday) to November 19, 2016 (Saturday)

"Manto-e・Takahata Momijitouro"
from November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) to November 23, 2016 (Wednesday, National Holiday)

"Takahata Fudoson Temple Maple Festival"
from November 18, 2016 (Friday) to November 30, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Susuharai (Ceremonial year-end cleaning of the main shrine buildings)"
December 13, 2016 (Tuesday)

"Otakiage (It is the day light up old omamori's and ofuda for purifying)"
December 15, 2016 (Thursday)

"Winter Solstice Star Festival"
December 21, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Otakiage (It is the day light up old omamori's and ofuda for purifying)"
December 28, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Osame-Fudo"
December 28, 2016 (Wednesday)

"The Bell on New Year's Eve"
January 1, 2017 (Sunday, National Holiday)

"Goohoininka"
January 15, 2017 (Sunday)

"The 63th Bunkazai Boka Day (Cultural Property Fire Prevention Day) Fire Engine Practice"
January 26, 2017 (Thursday)

"Hatsu Fudo Grand Festival (Daruma Doll Fair)"
January 28, 2017 (Saturday)
*Kids Parede is held from 14:00.

"Mame iri-Shiki"
January 31, 2017 (Tuesday)

"Setsubun Festival"
February 3, 2017 (Friday)

"Nehane"
February 15, 2017 (Wednesday)

"The 150th Shinsengumi Memorial Service"
March 18, 2017 (Saturday)

"Spring Equinox Day Higan-e Buddhist Memorial Service"
March 20, 2017 (Monday, National Holiday)

"Kobo-Daishi Shomieku"
March 21, 2017 (Tuesday)

"Flower Festival"
April 8, 2017 (Saturday)

"Spring National Treasure Grand Festival"
from April 27, 2017 (Thursday) to April 30, 2017 (Sunday)
*Thanks to Butsuden Sculpture Exhibition Day, it is possible to go to the top floor of Five-story Pagoda from 10:00 to 16:00 on April 28, 2017 (Friday).

"The 20th Hino Shinsengumi Festival"
from May 13, 2017 (Saturday) to May 14, 2017 (Sunday)

"Buso Fudoson in the Year of Bird is open to the public"
from May 1, 2017 (Monday) to May 28, 2017 (Sunday)

"May Grand Festival"
May 28, 2017 (Sunday)

"Aoba Festival (The Kobodaishi Birth Celebration Festival)"
June 15, 2017 (Thursday)

Necessary Time
It is estimated that it is about 1.5 hours in a regular pace, about 1 hour in a fast pace and about 2 hours in a slow pace.

Opening Hour
It opens all day.

Closed Day
It opens every day.

Admissions Fee
It is free.

Access
It takes about 3 minutes from Takahata-Fudo station on foot.

Nearest Railway Station
◎ Takahata-Fudo Station (Keio: Keio Line)
◎ Takahata-Fudo Station (Tama Monorail: Tama Intercity Monorail Line)

Fellow Travelers
◎ Alone
◎ With Friends
◎ With Significant Other
◎ With Family
○ With Children

Name in English
Takahata Fudoson Temple

Name in Roman Letters
Takahata Fudoson

Name in Japanese
高幡不動尊
たかはたふどうそん

Address
733, Takahata, Hino City, Tokyo, 191-0031, Japan

Telephone Number
042-591-0032

URL
http://www.takahatafudoson.or.jp

Map

Purpose: Colored Leaf

Purpose: Other Nature

Purpose: Religion

Purpose: Temple

Page Top