- English - Japanese -

Tokyo Sightseeing Information for Japan Trip

TOKYO SIGHTSEEING AREA

HOME » AREA » Cherry Blossom | Japanese | Relaxing | Religion | Seasonal Special! | Shrine | Ueno » Kanda Myoujin Shrine

Kanda Myoujin Shrine

[Seasonal Special!] [Religion] [Shrine] [Cherry Blossom]

[Seasonal] Cherry Blossoms Viewing
★★★★★★★☆☆☆ (7.0/10.0)

[Overall] Sightseeing
★★★★★★☆☆☆☆ (6.0/10.0)

Features
△ Enjoyable
○ Beautiful
◎ Relaxing
○ Unique
◎ Japanese

TRY JAPAN recommends ...

1: to see Kanda Festival (festival days only)

Shrine that is famous for Kanda Festival

If you visit Kanda Myoujin Shrine, you will see the red Main Hall and Zuishinmon Gate in its shrine grounds.

This Shinto shrine is famous for Kanda Festival. Along with Gion Festival of Kyoto Yasaka Shrine and Tenjin Festival of Osaka Tenmangu Shrine, it is recognized as one of three major festivals in Japan, while there are various views. Also, along with Sanno Festival of Hie Jinja Shrine and Fukagawa Hachiman Festival of Fukagawa Hachimangu Shrine, it is recognized as one of three major festivals in Tokyo, while there are various views. This festival is held every two years.

It enshrines Onamuchi-no-Mikoto (Daikokusama), Sukunahikona-no-Mikoto (Ebisusama) and Taira-no-Masakado (Masaksadosama). Historically, it was the guardian god of Edo in Edo period (1603-1867). Its official name is Kanda Jinja Shrine.

There are some cherry trees in the shrine grounds, in addition to roof garden. The high season of cherry blossoms is in April.

It was established in 730. It is a small shrine at commercial area in Soto-Kanda, Chiyoda City, Tokyo. Its nearest station is Ochanomizu station.

Event Information

"Niinamesai (Harvest Ceremony) (Autumn Grand Festival)"
November 24, 2017 (Friday)

"Jo-Sai Oharae (Great purification)"
December 30, 2017 (Saturday)

"Oharae (Great purification)"
December 31, 2017 (Sunday)

Finished Event Information

"Spring Festival"
April 1, 2015 (Wednesday) to April 5, 2015 (Sunday)

"SO-SEI KAGURA"
May 4, 2015 (Monday, National Holiday)

"The 13th Kanda Myoujin Shrine Takigi Noh"
May 14, 2015 (Thursday)

"Kanda-matsuri Festival"
May 7, 2015 (Thursday) to May 15, 2015 (Friday)

"Oharae"
June 30, 2015 (Tuesday)

"Tanabata Festival"
July 7, 2015 (Tuesday)

"400-Year Commemoration of Transfer Museum Special Exhibition: O-edo ・ Kanda-Matsuri Festival ~Natural History of Kanda-Matsuri Festival~"
from January 1, 2015 (Thursday, National Holiday) to July 26, 2015 (Sunday)

"Masakado Mound Annual Festival"
September 24, 2015 (Thursday)

"The 3rd Congratulation Shichi-Go-San Children Drum Festival"
November 7, 2015 (Saturday)

"Autumn Grand Festival (Niinamesai (Harvest Ceremony))"
November 25, 2015 (Wednesday)

"Tenchosai (Celebration of the current Emperor's birthday)"
December 23, 2015 (Wednesday, National Holiday)

"Bo-Sai Oharae (Great purification)"
December 27, 2015 (Sunday)

"Oharae (Great purification)"
December 31, 2015 (Thursday)

"Joyasai (Year-end ritual)"
December 31, 2015 (Thursday)

"Satansai (New Year's Day ritual)"
January 1, 2016 (Friday)

"Daikoku Festival"
(from January 9, 2016 (Saturday) to January 11, 2016 (Monday, National Holiday))
January 9, 2016 (Saturday): "Purification Ceremony Patience Meeting During Cold"
January 10, 2016 (Sunday): "Shijyo Style Kitchen Knife Ceremony"
January 11, 2016 (Monday, National Holiday): "Prayer Skewer Accomplishment Festival"

"Kagura Hajime"
January 19, 2016 (Tuesday)

"The 62nd Bunkazai Boka Day (Cultural Property Fire Prevention Day) Fire Engine Practice"
January 26, 2016 (Tuesday)

"Setsubun Festival"
February 3, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Kigensai (National Foundation Day Festival)"
February 11, 2016 (Wednesday, National Holiday)

"Spring Festival"
from April 1, 2016 (Friday) to April 4, 2016 (Monday)

"Drum Festival"
May 15, 2016 (Sunday)

"Tea Ceremony by Omotesenke"
May 16, 2016 (Monday)

"The 14th Kanda myoujin takiginoh Myoujinnoh yugen-no-hana"
May 16, 2016 (Monday)

"Grande Festival"
May 17, 2016 (Tuesday)

"Yokota Family Collection Jitte Exhibition"
from May 14, 2016 (Saturday) to May 18, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Oharae (Great purification)"
June 30, 2016 (Thursday)

"Tanabata Festival"
July 7, 2016 (Thursday)

"The 1st Kanda Myoujin Shrine Noryo Festival"
from August 11, 2016 (Thursday, National Holiday) to August 14, 2016 (Sunday)

"Display of Osamu Akimoto's Emaki (Illustrated Scrolls)"
from September 3, 2016 (Saturday) to September 11, 2016 (Sunday)

"Masakado Mound Annual Festival"
September 21, 2016 (Wednesday)

"Shichi-Go-San Special Festival"
November 6, 2016 (Saturday) and November 12, 2016 (Saturday)

"Cultural Heritage of Edo Tokyo Festival: Rites and Entertainments of Edo"
from November 12, 2016 (Saturday) to November 13, 2016 (Sunday)

"Niinamesai (Harvest Ceremony) (Autumn Grand Festival)"
November 25, 2016 (Friday)

"Susuosame (Ceremonial year-end cleaning of the main shrine buildings)"
December 12, 2016 (Monday)

"Tenchosai (Celebration of the current Emperor's birthday)"
December 23, 2016 (Friday, National Holiday)

"Jo-Sai Oharae (Great purification)"
December 30, 2016 (Friday)

"Oharae (Great purification)"
December 31, 2016 (Saturday)

"Joyasai (Year-end ritual)"
December 31, 2016 (Saturday)

"Satansai (New Year's Day ritual)"
January 1, 2017 (Sunday, National Holiday)

"Kagura Hajime"
January 19, 2017 (Thursday)

"Daikoku Festival"
(from January 21, 2017 (Saturday) to January 22, 2017 (Sunday))
January 21, 2017 (Saturday): "Purification Ceremony Patience Meeting During Cold"
January 22, 2017 (Sunday): "Shijyo Style Kitchen Knife Ceremony"
January 22, 2017 (Sunday): "Prayer Skewer Accomplishment Festival"

"Setsubun Festival"
February 3, 2017 (Friday)

"Kigensai (National Foundation Day Festival)"
February 11, 2017 (Saturday, National Holiday)

"The Musashi Ninja Clan Warriors Hono Performance"
February 18, 2017 (Saturday)

"Kanda Myoujin Shrine Child Festa"
March 25, 2017 (Saturday)

"Kanda Myoujin Shrine Dedication Professional Wrestling"
March 25, 2017 (Saturday)

"Spring Festival"
from April 1, 2017 (Saturday) to April 4, 2017 (Tuesday)

"Kids Parade"
April 8, 2017 (Saturday)

"Tokyo Infiorata Week 2017"
from April 5, 2017 (Wednesday) to April 9, 2017 (Sunday)

"Kochikame Illustrated Scrolls are specially open to the public"
from May 6, 2017 (Saturday) to May 7, 2017 (Sunday)
from May 13, 2017 (Saturday) to May 14, 2017 (Sunday)

"The 15th Kanda Myoujin Shrine Takiginoh Myoujinnoh yugen-no-hana"
May 15, 2017 (Monday)

"Tea Ceremony by Omotesenke"
May 16, 2017 (Tuesday)

"Kanda-matsuri Festival"
from May 11, 2017 (Thursday) to May 17, 2017 (Wednesday)

"Athlete Shinzen Collection 2017 ~Yukata Festival @Kanda Myoujin Shrine"
June 27, 2017 (Tuesday)

"Oharae (Great purification)"
June 30, 2017 (Friday)

"Yomiuri Shinbun Athlete News Photogragh Exhibition"
from June 27, 2017 (Tuesday) to July 3, 2017 (Monday)

"Tanabata Festival"
July 7, 2017 (Friday)

"Kanda-matsuri Festival Exhibition"
Only on the weekend and national holiday from March 25, 2017 (Saturday) to July 30, 2017 (Sunday)

"The 2nd Kanda Myoujin Shrine Noryo Festival"
from August 11, 2017 (Friday, National Holiday) to August 13, 2017 (Sunday)

"COMIC KON Publication Anniversary Original Picture Exhibition"
from September 16, 2017 (Saturday) to September 19, 2017 (Tuesday)

"Masakado Mound Annual Festival"
September 21, 2017 (Thursday)

"Secondhand Book Thanks Festival"
October 4, 2017 (Wednesday)

Necessary Time
It is estimated that it is about 45 minutes in a regular pace, about 30 minutes in a fast pace, and about 1 hour in a slow pace.

Opening Hour
It opens all day. The light goes off at 23:00.

Closed Day
It opens every day.

Admissions Fee
It is free.

Access
It takes about 5 minutes from Ochanomizu Station.

Nearest Railway Station
◎ Ochanomizu Station (JR East: Sobu Line, Chuo Line, Chuo Main Line)
◎ Ochanomizu Station (Tokyo Metro: Marunouchi Line)
◎ Shin-Ochanomizu Station (Tokyo Metro: Chiyoda Line)
◎ Suehirocho Station (Tokyo Metro: Ginza Line)
○ Akihabara Station (JR East: Yamanote Line, Keihin-Tohoku Line, Sobu Line)
○ Akihabara Station (Tokyo Metro: Hibiya Line)

Fellow Travelers
◎ Alone
◎ With Friends
◎ With Significant Other
◎ With Family
○ With Children

Name in English
Kanda Myoujin Shrine

Name in Roman Letters
Kanda Myoujin
Kanda Jinja

Name in Japanese
神田明神
かんだみょうじん
神田神社
かんだじんじゃ

Address
2-16-2, Soto-Kanda, Chiyoda City, Tokyo, 101-0021, Japan

Telephone Number
03-3254-0753

URL
http://www.kandamyoujin.or.jp/what/

Map

Page Top